LADOT has begun a one-year pilot study of dockless scooters and electric bikes. There are approximately a dozen companies participating in the program. These scooters and bikes have been migrating into the hillside roads, causing safety concerns by residents.
Below is LADOT information on the pilot program and frequently asked questions that includes how to report abandoned scooters and bikes. There should be a two-hour pick-up when an abandoned vehicle is reported to when it is picked up by its respective company. For more information, visit the LADOT site at https://ladot.io/programs/dockless/
Dockless Mobility Frequently Asked Questions
What laws apply to riding an e-scooter?
Users must be 18 years or older and must have a valid California driver’s license.
Users are not required to wear a helmet on e-scooters, but helmet use is strongly recommended.
Only one person at a time may ride an e-scooter.
E-scooters cannot exceed 15 miles per hour
Where can I ride an e-scooter?
Users can ride on surface streets and are encouraged to ride in bike lanes where available. Under California state law, sidewalk riding is prohibited. The fine for sidewalk riding is $197.
Where can I park an e-scooter?
If riding in Downtown Los Angeles, LADOT has placed conveniently located “Parking Zones.” Users are not required to park scooters in these areas, but are strongly encouraged. Dockless Mobility Providers have locations of Parking Zones in their apps. LADOT hopes to install additional drop zones over the coming months. Community members who want to install a parking zone in their area may work with their Council Office to identify potential locations. LADOT will review for feasibility.
Do not park:
In front of driveways, crosswalks, and transit stops
Near ADA access ramps
Near utilities (such as fire hydrants)
Along color curbs (such as Accessible Parking Zones-blue and Loading Zones-yellow)
On landscaped areas or grass
On sidewalks less than 3 feet wide
Leave at least 6 feet of sidewalk space for pedestrians and persons with disabilities
How much does it cost to rent a scooter?
Each company sets their own prices. Users typically pay to unlock the vehicle plus a fee for every mile or every minute of usage. Please refer to companies’ websites for more information.
What subsidized and cash payment options are available?
Everyone in Los Angeles should benefit from new transportation choices that are safe and convenient. To help achieve this vision, if Providers wish to operate more than 3,000 vehicles, they have the option to increase their fleet size by up to 5,000 in disadvantaged communities (DAC) in the San Fernando Valley and/or up to 3,000 in any qualifying disadvantaged community citywide. In addition, LADOT requires Providers to establish payment plans for low-income households, non-smart phone payment and booking options, and cash payment options. To inquire about specific equity plans and local employment opportunities, please contact:
Sherpa: 818-369-6553 ext. 5
How many scooters are allowed to operate?
3,000 per permitted company, with an additional 2,500 allowed in Disadvantaged Communities, as identified with DAC by CalEnviroScreen 3.0, and an additional 5,000 allowed in the San Fernando Valley
How much does it cost to operate scooters?
Permitted operators must pay an annual fee and a per vehicle fee to be used for program administration.
Who is enforcing State and City rules?
LADOT will ensure that Dockless Mobility Providers follow regulations outlined in the One-Year permit. LAPD will ticket anyone they find riding an e-scooter on the sidewalk. Any vehicle parked in any one location for more than 5 consecutive days without moving is subject to removal by LA Sanitation. LAPD traffic divisions are responsible for ticketing sidewalk riding. For concerns about sidwalk riding, community members may contact LAPD division captains. For Bel-Air, reports are directed to LAPD West Traffic Division:
LAPD West Traffic Division:
(213) 473- 0222 or http://lapdonline.org/west_traffic
How do I report parking violations and abandoned vehicles?
You can report issues related to dockless scooters and bicycles to MyLA311. Providers are responsible for closing out service request information and must share the status of the service request. Providers have 2 hours to respond to a request (7 a.m. – 10 p.m.) and must have a team available 24 hours a day. Any vehicle that has not been moved after 5 days is subject to impound by the Bureau of Sanitation.
You can also report on the MyLA311 app under the category of “obstruction” or “other.”